AlmostEDEN

It all began with my accident as most everything does, besides that which doesn’t, of course. Which happened on May 19, 2007. The date was around March of 2010, and after sitting moping ’bout what to do with my purty lil self. The knowledge of how this situation escapes my head of who called who, but my ex-soccer coach. June Clifford, the pastor of Beautiful Gate, and I planned on having Jesus’s Church youth group build a small garden outside my house. So AlmostEDEN was born. Which gave me a job and a gymnasium all in one. The fact that it’s named AlmostEDEN, a name I came up with, and for me it was IN THE BEGINNING. The parallel did not come to me till it did, and when it did.

When it did it stuck.

AlmostEDEN.png (1)
The whole idea was a Godsend seeing that I didn’t necessarily want but, needed exercise 24/7. And, being then a twenty-five-year-old gentleman, a job to boot. Later it came to me that one of the many problems I had stemmed from being under somebody else, my “supervisor”. Added benefit of this job was that I was my own boss plus you get to eat what you grow. Talk about LIVING GREEN, there’s not much more you can do to be GREEN. You can paint yourself green, but I wouldn’t advise it. Unless… Naw!

_______________________________________________________________________________________

The start of AE
Seeing that I was unsteady on my feet, they first they built raised beds, providing me with exercise that was right up my alley. Another negative, thorn in my side, was the half a year I went without food. Thereby, He turned my frown upside down, giving my family all-natural food.
Workin'
The day was from what I remember was a sunny day. Minus the off chance cloud, the sky was baby blue with just next to no clouds. Then dirt was added to the raised beds but of course they didn’t start from scratch, I had a garden it wasn’t as big as the one they put in but when they finished Almost Eden was born, containing five beds running perpendicular. And one long one running the length of the back parallel with the five rows between it and the driveway.
A door was added, posts, and finally a gate was installed. Then, once the fence was finally put in, Almost Eden was almost done. Only thing left was the planting of the plants.
A door was added, posts, and finally a gate was installed. Then, once the fence was finally put in, Almost Eden was almost done. The only thing left was the planting of the plants.
When the Beautiful Gate installed my garden. They also put a run in starting at my compost and going to a corner of the house, in which I grow peas, collards, and carrots.
When the Beautiful Gate installed my garden. They also put a run in starting at my compost and going to a corner of the house, in which I grow peas, collards, and carrots.
Of course over the years between then and now my mom and I have upgraded adding to AE making it bigger. With 21 places for melons, squash, and cucumbers.
Of course over the years between then and now my mom and I have upgraded adding to AE making it bigger. With 21 places for melons, squash, and cucumbers.
Way more tomatoes than not.
With help from my family thirty, some tomato plants were added after noticing that, even though voice says otherwise, deep down inside everyone wants a red tomato. They are homed in three raised beds. Not pictured are six or so more…

 I found this local farmers market to work at. Click this link to get directions> Mineral Farmer’s Market

Holla at me.

